Heart of the Hub Print


Join guests from the arts, cultural, education, social justice, medical, historic preservation, and culinary communities in Roxbury and around Greater Boston at the eighth annual Heart of the Hub party fundraiser. Heart of the Hub celebrates Roxbury's physical and cultural assets, and the people who work tirelessly to strengthen them. Guests have the opportunity to learn more about Roxbury's thriving arts community while networking with peers and enjoying a sampling of food, beverages, and dancing.

Click here to view pictures from the 2015 Heart of the Hub

Heart of the Hub silent auctionEmcee
Shea Rose 

E-Water Band is back by popular demand as well as spoken word performances by Janae Johnson, 2015 Poetry Slam Winner.

A Taste of Roxbury
A Taste of Roxbury reception catered by area restaurants presents
some of the most delicious varieties of food from around the neighborhood. This year vendors include: Ethnica, Dudley Cafe, Darryl's Corner Bar, Fulani's Kitchen, Fort Hill Jerk Chicken, Haley House Bakery Cafe, Dudley Dough, Ethnica, Tropicals, Whole Foods, Bundts + Tea & Percival Beer.
A cash bar with assorted beverages will also be available. 

Mel King at Heart of the HubHeart of the Hub guestsRoxbury Puddingstone Awards
Before the close of the evening, we honor individuals with the Roxbury Puddingstone Awards for their extraordinary efforts to highlight and preserve Roxbury's physical and cultural assets. Previous award recipients include State Representative Byron Rushing, E.Barry GaitherKlare Shaw, Bing Broderick, Melvin Miller, Rev. Michael Haynes, Candelaria Silva-Collins, John Wilson, Glynn Lloyd, Clarence "Jeep" Jones, and Paul Goodnight, Ekua Holmes, Kay Bourne, among others.

The 2015 Roxbury Puddingstone Awardees are; Centenarian, master barber & entertainer (104 year-old) James Guilford; local award-winning documentary filmmakers, Robert Patton-Spruill and Patricia Moreno. 

Heart of the Hub guests from Shawmut ConstructionThank you to everyone working behind the scenes!

2015 Host Committee 

Alkia Powell 
Laura Palmer Edwards
Lynda Hester
Marisa Luse 
Alyssa Lee
Ola Akinwumi 
Pamela Jones
Mary Churchill
Allen Bush
Rachel Goldberg
Erin Anderson
Stacy Sutherland  
Jennifer McDonald
Elaine Hall-Corbin
Kim Janey 
Terri Brown 

2015 Honorary Committee

Ayanna Pressley - Boston City Councilor-at-large
Julie Burros - Chief of Arts & Culture
Malia Lazu - Executive Director, Future Boston Alliance
Lorita Williams - VP, Roxbury Community College
Jeremy Thompson, Haley House Bakery Cafe Manager
Jeanne Pinado, COO, Madison Park Development Corporation
J. Curtis Warner, JrAssoc.VP, Berklee College of Music
Paul Goodnight, Artist